Tulane Home Tulane Shield logo linking to site home page

Tulane School of Architecture (TuSA) is open, post-Hurricane Ida with in-person instruction. For more information about Tulane's response and reopening, visit the university's Forward TUgether website. TuSA students should check their emails for important reminders and instructions.


Design-build studio 'apothecarts' recognized with Design Educates Award

May 17, 2021
Photo outdoors in a parking lot with a student sitting on a bike that has an attached cart with drawers and cabinets

Tulane School of Architecture students and faculty won a Bronze Award in Responsive Design from international nonprofit Design Educates. Through the Albert and Tina Small Center for Collaborative Design, the Fall 2020 design-build studio collaborated with nonprofit Solitary Gardens to create an apothecart: a mobile apothecary cart towed by bike. 

The Small Center's studio, which is one of the school's multi-year Research Studios, works to confront big questions about designing for justice and healing through small scale intervention. The Fall 2020 studio collaborated with community partner Jackie Sumell, founder of local non-profit Solitary Gardens, in order to design and build carts to distribute herbal medicine, grown by her organization, to communities in New Orleans affected by mass incarceration. What came out of this collaboration was the idea of an apothecart: a mobile apothecary cart which is towed by bike. The studio designed and built two apothecarts which they have named Armadillo and Camelback. The carts are filled with plant medicine from the Prisoner’s Apothecary, and are used to catalyze public conversations at the intersection of healthcare, social justice, public art, and prison abolition.

The studio faculty lead was Professor of Practice Emilie Taylor Welty, along with Adjunct Lecturer Nick Jenisch, who served as project manager. Studio students, a mixture of graduate and undergraduate students, were Elizabeth Bateman, Jeremy Baudy, Anna Deeg, Claire Divito, Rebecca Dunn, Adrian Evans, Danelle Martin, Danielle Scheeringa, Bhumika Shirole, Zach Speroni, James Rennert, and Dana Ridenour. Small Center staff invovled in the work were Jose Cotto, Rashidah Williams, and Ann Yoachim.

For more about the apothecart design-build, click here.